Research support

Research support & funding history

Funding that is documented by an award record, kept strictly separate from funding that is reported without one. Agency shares, recipient shares and total values are not combined.

Three distinctions that this page maintains

  • Institute funding is not Adelphi University funding. Most of the awards below were made to Adelphi University, in several cases decades before the Institute existed. The Institute does not claim them.
  • A funding agency is not a collaborator. Agencies that funded work appear here; whether any of them was also a research partner is treated separately on the collaborations page.
  • An agency share is not a receipt. Where a project record states an agency share and a recipient share, both are given, together with the identity of the recipient.

Documented awards

Each of the following is evidenced by a government record that names the award, the contract number, or both.

Awards documented in government records
FunderAward / contract RecipientPeriodAmount as published
NASA NAS 5-23688, Adelphi–Goddard Emulsified Fuel Project Center for Energy Studies, Adelphi University. John Dooher named as Project Director Report dated 18 August 1977Not stated in the record
U.S. Department of Energy Coal/water/oil emulsion clean liquid fuel study, interim and final reports Adelphi University. J. Dooher sole author of the report series 1976–1980Not stated in the records
U.S. Department of Energy DE-AC22-79PC10328, report DOE/PC/10328-T1 Adelphi University. John P. Dooher identified as principal investigator October 1978 – November 1979Not stated in the record
U.S. Department of Energy / NETL Development of a phenomenological model for coal slurry atomization, OSTI 882521 Adelphi University. John Dooher sole author Report dated 1 August 2003Not stated in the record
U.S. Department of Energy FE0007977, liquid CO2 slurry for feeding low-rank coal to gasifiers Electric Power Research Institute, Inc. The Dooher Institute of Physics and Energy was a named team member Announced 9 September 2011; 12 months DOE share $817,316
Recipient share $204,329

No public record discloses any amount received by the Dooher Institute of Physics and Energy on the 2011–2013 project, and none is claimed. Several of the older records state no dollar figure at all; where that is so, the cell says so rather than estimating.

Funding reported by the Adelphi University faculty record

The Adelphi University faculty record for John Dooher contains the following statement about funding. It is reproduced verbatim because paraphrasing it would risk overstating it:

“Responsible for rheology testing and technical input in the recent million dollar DOE/EPRI project on feeding low rank coal to gasifiers with liquid carbon dioxide. Responsible for the design and development of the Adelphi University Energy Research Program. Obtained over five million dollars in outside funding for alternative energy sources. NASA, Environmental Protection Agency, United States Department of Energy, Empire State Electric Energy Research Corporation, New York State Energy Research and Development Authority, Electric Power Research Institute, Long Island Lighting Company, and numerous industrial firms have provided funding”

Grants section, Adelphi University faculty profile — John Dooher, accessed 31 August 2026

How to read that statement

  • It describes funding obtained for Adelphi University’s energy research program, not for the Dooher Institute of Physics and Energy.
  • The figure of “over five million dollars” is cumulative across a career, is undated, and is not itemized into individual awards on the source page.
  • Of the funders named, only NASA (contract NAS 5-23688) and the Department of Energy are corroborated by an individual award record located in this survey. For the Environmental Protection Agency, the Empire State Electric Energy Research Corporation, the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority and the Long Island Lighting Company, no individual award record was located. That is not evidence that no such award exists; older utility and state-agency awards are frequently absent from public databases. It does mean that those funders rest on the university record alone.
  • The Electric Power Research Institute appears both here and in the documented 2011–2013 project, where it was the DOE award recipient rather than a funder of the Institute.
  • The phrase describing the Adelphi program is “design and development”. The university record does not say that he directed the program, and this site does not say so either. The separate directorship documented in the 2007 Optical Engineering biography is of Adelphi’s Energy and Environmental Research Programs, and is recorded there as a previous role as of 2007.

Institute finances

The Institute is a small organization. It files federal returns annually; the return on file for the fiscal year ending December 2024 is a Form 990-PF. Its revenue is derived from contributions rather than from grant income, and it does not publish financial statements of its own. The filings are public and are the appropriate source for anyone assessing its finances: see nonprofit status and governance for the links.

The Institute does not solicit donations through this website and has no grant-making program open to applications.